Middle Years Programme

IAA Grades 6-10 students follow the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (IB MYP). This programme builds on the solid foundation provided by IAA's Primary programme and has been specifically chosen to synthesize best-practice and standards from other international education systems. IAA is also an official 'Leading MYP eAssessment School'. IAA has been working with the IB to implement a new electronic assessment tool to ensure the IB continues to remain on the cutting edge of technology in education. IAA students now undergo their MYP assessments electronically.

The IB MYP is a holistic, inquiry-based curriculum framework that not only addresses the broad academic needs of adolescents, but also their emotional and social needs  - especially, in terms of developing them as citizens of the world and leaders of tomorrow.

The focus for IB MYP at IAA is developing international perspectives, employing both the solid curriculum on offer and the diversity of our students and their experiences. The methodology used is student-centered, with teachers utilizing a multiplicity of teaching strategies designed to cater to the different learning styles of our students. Whilst subjects are discretely taught, there is integration of subject areas.

Students are assessed using published criteria and a variety of assessment tasks.

Grades 6-8

Grades 6-8 follow a common core MYP curriculum, which aims to provide "skills for learning" within each subject area.

Grades 9-10

There is a trend towards subject specialization, with students being able to choose options. These options are offered within the framework of the IB Middle Years Programme.

1.    Students are now required to take onscreen examinations (essentially 2-hour exams per subject taken live over the internet) at the end of Grade 10 in Mathematics, Language and Literature - English, Language and Literature - Arabic, Individuals and Societies, Sciences (Integrated or Discrete) and Interdisciplinary Learning.

2.    For Physical and Health Education, the Arts, Language Acquisition (Spanish and Arabic) and Design, students are required to submit e-portfolios of work that will be marked by our teachers and external moderated by the IB, at the end of Grade 10.

3.    To gain the IB MYP Certificate, students are required to take the onscreen examinations, submit e- portfolios for courses that they are registered for, successfully complete their Personal Project and meet the schools requirements for Service As Action.

Additional Curriculum Requirements

        Students, from Grades 6 to 10, must complete Service as Action requirements.

        In Grade 8, students must complete a Community Project.

        In Grades 6 to 10, students also take part in Islamic and Christian Religion classes.



For more information on the IB Middle Years Programme please contact the MYP Coordinator: H.Asaad@IAA.edu.jo